Montenegro, Serbia, Bosnia progress DSO

Montenegro’s Agency for Electronic Media has issued to Radio-difuzni Centar the first national DTT multiplex operator license in the country.

The company will operate Multiplex 1, covering four alotment areas for DVB-T/DVB-T2, as defined by the Plan for the Allocation of Frequencies for Digital Terrestrial Broadcasting. The four alotments are for channel 43 (Bjelasica); channel 35 (Lovcen); channel 24 (Podgorica) and channel 49 (Tvrdas).

Multiplex 1 will initially carry two TV channels and two radio stations of public broadcaster Radio Televizija Crne Gore (RTCG), which Radio-difuzni centar will have to carry free of charge. Other Montenegrin TV channels will be added after a public tender to be announced in the second half of 2014.

Meanwhile, in neighbouring Serbia, DTT network operator Emisiona Tehnika i Veze plans to cover 90 per cent of the population over the next two months. Currently, Serbian TV viewers can recieve a total of 11 TV channels on DTT  (RTS 1, RTS 2, RTS HD, Pink, B-92, Happy, RTS Digital, RTV 1, RTV 2, Studio B and Belle Amie).

For its part, Bosnia and Herzegovina plans to complete the first phase of the introduction of DTT in mid-August, with the installation of transmission equipment to cover the three biggest cities – Sarajevo, Banja Luka and Mostar. More cities would be covered during the second phase, including Trebinje, Posusje, Livno, Bihac and Travnik.

Posted by on Jun 24 2014. Filed under Articles, Broadcast, DSO.

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search by keyword
Copyright Advanced Television Ltd © 2001-2015