Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Rocket launch in 360° 3D

On April 18th a giant Atlas-5 rocket will launch a scientific satellite from Cape Canaveral in Florida. This is something of a routine launch, but what makes this special is that the United Launch Alliance (ULA), which looks after the Atlas launches, is capturing the complete exercise in 360° 3D.

Users of Google’s 360-degree devices can download a live feed, which opens at 11.11am Eastern Daylight Time (16.11 BST, 17.11 Paris time).  YouTube supports playback of 360-degree videos on computers using Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer and Opera browsers. Viewers may use the YouTube app to view the launch on a smart phone. Those who own virtual reality headsets will be able to look around and experience the view as if they were actually standing on the launch pad.

The Orbital-ATK satellite launch allows NASA and ULA to place the viewer safely at the base of the rocket when normally the typical viewing distance is many miles away.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login