Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

BBC Persian TV launches #Shoma ahead of Iranian elections

In the run-up to the elections in Iran, BBC Persian is launching its digital-first TV programme.  From May 13th, #Shoma invites audiences across platforms to share their opinions and stories.

Saturday to Wednesday live interactive programme, #Shoma (“#You”) delivers innovative and creative ways to engage with the audience on TV, the website and via social media, bringing an even greater variety of stories to the BBC Persian output.  It will specifically target young digital audiences and women as well as wider TV audiences.

In addition to coverage of the daily news, #Shoma also reflects stories trending in BBC Persian’s target market across its social-media platforms: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Telegram messenger service.  It will engage audiences in discussions about what matters to Persian-speaking viewers and listeners in Iran and across the globe.

#Shoma will be live on TV (and streamed via BBC Persian website), from May 13th at 15.00 GMT (19.30 Tehran Time, 20.30 Kabul Time, 11.00 ET), Saturday to Wednesday.  It adds to the BBC Persian early evening broadcast mix of news and features.

Presenter of #Shoma, Ehsan Amertousi, sees the new programme as an exciting opportunity to deepen BBC Persian’s engagement with its audience:  “In the run-up to the elections in Iran, it’s really important we give our audience the chance to share their opinions on the issues that really matter to them.  Regardless of where or who you are, how old you are, #Shoma will be the place to come and tell us what is happening in your life and what you want for the future.”

The programme’s Editor, Leyla Khodabakhshi, says that #Shoma will give the audience the chance to participate and shape part of BBC Persian’s daily news agenda:  “Combining the informality of social with the sense of drama often only TV programmes can bring, and delivered and shared on digital platforms, #Shoma is designed to reflect how our audience today wants to interact with us.  This is a great opportunity for them to be at the heart of the BBC Persian output, and I’m so pleased we’re launching just before the election, so we can bring voters and commentators together as our audience debates the important issues.”

You must be logged in to post a comment Login