Advanced Television

Russia adopts DVB-T2

September 29, 2011

A Russian governmental commission has approved the use of the DVB-T2 standard for the development of digital terrestrial TV in Russia, as proposed by the Ministry of Communications. The digital terrestrial TV network is currently being tested out in the Tver region. New regional networks will be deployed under the DVB-T2 standard and existing DVB-T networks will be upgraded to the new standard.

Together with the deployment of the DVB-T2 networks, pilot zones for emergency warning systems using DVB-T2 will be set up in the following areas: Primorye (Vladivostok), Khabarovsk (Khabarovsk), Kaliningrad (Kaliningrad), Kursk (Kursk), Tatarstan (Kazan), Sochi, St. Petersburg and Moscow.

Meanwhile, the Ghanaian government has accepted the recommendations of the Digital Broadcasting Migration Committee to adopt DVB-T2 as the standard for digital terrestrial TV in the country. The terrestrial stations GTV, TV3, TV Africa, Crystal TV, Metro TV, Viasat1, Net-2 TV, e-TV Ghana, Coastal TV, GhOne, Top TV and all other stations with similar licences will migrate from analogue to digital. The ministry said that it has accepted Advanced Video Coding (AVC)/MPEG-4 (part 10) and High Efficiency Advanced Audio Coding (HE-AAC) as the compression technology standards, with MHEG-5 selected as the Application Programming Interface (API) for additional and interactive services. All vendors and equipment suppliers have been directed to cease importing DTT decoders immediately. The Ministry of Communications is collaborating with other government agencies to ensure that only receivers that conform to the national standard are sold in Ghana.


Categories: Articles, Broadcast, Standards