Advanced Television

Serbia launches DTT with 11 channels

March 20, 2012

From Branislav Pekic in Rome

The Initial network of DTT transmitters will be switched on in Serbia on March 21, thus marking the official start of the transition from analogue to digital TV broadcasting.

The adopted broadcasting standard for Serbia is DVB-T2 with MPEG-4.10 (H264/AVC) compression. The DTT signal of the Initial network will be distributed via 15 transmitters. 

A total of 10 TV channels in Standard Definition and one in High Definition have been authorised by the country’s Broadcasting Agency (Ratel). The channels are: RTS 1, RTS 2, RTS Digital, Pink, B92, Prva TV, Avala, Happy TV, RTV 1, STB, and RTS HD.

The digital signal from the Initial network will be available to about 40 per cent of the population of Serbia. The Initial network is intended to test the systems, transmitters, receivers, different parameters and features of propagation and reception.



Categories: Articles, Broadcast, DTT/DSO