Advanced Television

DTG unveils Future Technology taskforce

November 28, 2012

The Digital TV Group (DTG), the industry association for digital TV in the UK, has confirmed the line-up of the recently launched Future of Innovation in Television Technology (FITT) Taskforce and its key work streams for 2013.

Launched by the Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries, Ed Vaizey in September, the Taskforce’s aim is to define the measures that should be implemented to leverage the UK’s track record of innovating in television technology, in order to deliver sustainable UK economic growth.

The Taskforce is being led by a group consisting of technology innovators, senior content executives and leading academics in the field, in order to capture both technical and consumer perspectives. Organisations represented include EE, Freeview, Goldsmiths College, Microsoft, Sony and Virgin Media. A full list of FITT Taskforce members is available below.

David Docherty, Chairman of the Taskforce, said: “The UK is a world leader in the successful delivery and evolution of digital television and associated technologies. With support from Government and the knowledge and expertise of senior executives from the broadcasting, content, technology and academic sectors, along with defined areas for development, the Future of Innovation in Television Technology Taskforce can work to ensure the UK’s valuable technology industry continues to drive innovation going forward.”

The Taskforce’s initial findings will be presented to industry at the 2013 DTG Summit on April 26th.

The FITT Taskforce members are:
  Ben McOwen Wilson, Content Partnerships Director, YouTube Team, Google
 Professor Dave J. Richardson, University of Southampton
  David Docherty, Chairman
 Dominic Collins, Director of Digital, EE
 Emma Scott, Managing Director, Freesat
  Graham North, Commercial Director, Humax
 Howard Watson, Chief Architect, BT
  Ilse Howling, Managing Director, Freeview
  John Simmons, Media Platform Architect, Microsoft
 Professor Keith Burnett, CBE, FRS, Vice-Chancellor, University of Sheffield
  Pat Loughery, Warden, Goldsmiths College
  Paul Dale, CTO, Technology and Platforms, ITV
 Paul Richmond, Executive Director of Corporate Affairs and Media, Virgin Media
  Ralph Rivera, Director, BBC Future Media
 Richard Halton, CEO, YouView
  Richard Lindsay-Davies, Director General, Digital TV Group
 Rob King, Vice President of Consumer Electronics, Samsung
  Sally Osman, Director of Corporate Communications, Sony Europe
 Sophie Turner-Laing, Managing Director, Entertainment, News and Broadcast Operations, BSkyB
 Stephen Hearnden, Director of Technology, Intellect
 Wendy McMillan, Group Strategy & Business Development Director, Arqiva

Categories: Articles, DTT/DSO, Equipment, People, UHD