Advanced Television

ESPN announces ATP 250 and WTA Tennis schedule for 2013

January 24, 2013

ESPN has announced its schedule of ATP 250 and WTA International tennis coverage for 2013, which will feature the world’s top players. Following ESPN’s coverage of the ATP 250 Brisbane International this month, where Wimbledon runner-up and London 2012 Olympic champion Andy Murray retained his title, the tennis line-up continues next month.

From February 8, ESPN will bring fans the ATP 250 – Open Sud de France, the indoor tournament which was won last year by Czech Tomas Berdych after a hard fought final against Gael Monfils. The next ATP 250 tournament to be shown will be the US Men’s Clay Court Championship in Houston in April. The tournament is the last remaining ATP World Tour-level tournament in the US to be played on clay courts.

From May, ESPN will have coverage of the ATP250 Open De Nice Cote d’Azur and the WTA’s Internationaux de Strasbourg, giving fans the opportunity to watch the top women players prepare for the French Open.

The action from the women’s circuit continues with two WTA tournaments during July, starting with The Italiacom Open, which saw Britain’s Laura Robson reach her first WTA tour semi-final last year before Sara Errani became the first Italian to win four WTA titles in a single year. The Baku Cup is regarded as one of the most exciting new additions to the WTA tour.

In September, the ATP 250 and WTA begin the Asian leg of their tennis calendars. The Korea Open in Seoul has previously witnessed top players including Maria Sharapova, Venus Williams and reigning champion Caroline Wozniacki. Returning for its fifth year, the Malaysian Open attracts the world’s top players and has provided some of the WTA’s most exciting tennis – most recently last year’s three-set singles final which lasted for more than three hours.

The WTA season is completed with the Tournament of Champions, which sees the top female players compete for the title in an eight-woman round robin format. The players will be split into two groups of four, with the top two from each group progressing to the Semi Finals. Previous stars include Ana Ivanovic and Caroline Wozniacki.

Categories: Content, Press Releases