Advanced Television

Open Mobile Alliance elects chair

April 25, 2013

The Open Mobile Alliance has announced the election of Gary Jones of Deutsche Telekom/T-Mobile as Chairman of OMA’s Board of Directors. Bryan Sullivan of AT&T and Cecilia Corbi of Telecom Italia have been elected Vice-chairs.

Newly elected to the position of Chairman of the Board at OMA, Jones brings a wealth of mobile industry and standards experience. He is Senior Director and Head of Technical Standards Policy for T-Mobile USA, and along with his work at OMA, he directs and coordinates the efforts of the T-Mobile Standards Group in worldwide standards such as 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) and the ITU.

“OMA is a well-run and entrepreneurial organization with a long history of developing successful specifications, and I am honored to be chosen as Chairman of the Board of Directors,” said Jones. “As smartphones, mobile computing and the associated mobile applications become ubiquitous, I look forward to driving innovation in OMA’s work program and operations that result in specifications that bring value to our members and the mobile industry at large.”

Categories: Articles, Mobile, People