Advanced Television

ITV named Freesat Channel of the Year

July 11, 2013

itvITV has been awarded ‘Freesat Channel of the Year’, as judges praised the channel for discovering a ‘new class and confidence’ in its programming, resulting in a ‘resurgence of break out hits and high end drama’.

The night also saw ITV drama Broadchurch crowned ‘Best of British ‘TV Programme, whilst BBC Two’s Twenty Twelve, won ‘Best TV Sitcom’, which stars viewers favourite Olivia Coleman.

Other notable wins on the night included BBC One’s coverage of The London 2012 Olympics for ‘Best Live TV Programme or Series,’ and The Food Network UK was awarded ‘Best Specialist Channel’. BBC 5 live was recognised for ‘Best News Channel of the Year’.

The British public also got to have their say in two categories, TV Personality and Best British Soap – showing their support for Ant and Dec and Coronation Street respectively, who all walked away with awards.

Freesat Managing Director, Emma Scott said: “Tonight was a fantastic celebration of everything that is truly great about British TV. We paid homage to the world beating creative talent behind the unique channels and groundbreaking programming that I’m proud to say make up the Freesat service. Congratulations to all the worthy winners which we are incredibly proud to be able to recognise year on year.”

Now in its fifth year, the Freesat Awards celebrate the quality and variety of programming on offer by the subscription-free satellite TV service. A judging panel made up of media industry heavyweights, chaired by journalist Neil Midgley, deliberated on the best in programming and channels.

Actress and comedian Sally Phillips, best known for her roles in Miranda and Smack the Pony, hosted the event which was attended by 250 VIPs from the world of broadcast entertainment. Stars who turned out on the night included, the cast of Coronation Street, Broadchurch, John Inverdale, Chris Eubank, and Kate Garraway.

The 2013 Awards saw 52 nominees competing across ten categories. Brand new awards this year included Best TV Sitcom, Best Factual TV Programme or Series and Best Coverage for a Major News Event.

Categories: Articles, Content, Press Releases