Advanced Television

HbbTV new Steering Group members

May 13, 2014

The HbbTV Association, a global initiative dedicated to providing an open standard for the delivery of broadcast and broadband services through connected TVs and set-top boxes, has revealed the results of its recent Steering Group elections. As part of this, the new Steering Group re-elected Klaus Illgner as Chairman, Jon Piesing as Vice-Chairman and Mark Londero as Treasurer. Over the upcoming two year term, the HbbTV Steering Group will be focused on further extending the consumer benefits of hybrid broadcast TV, ensuring continued capabilities to support new HbbTV services and promoting its wider adoption across the world.

“HbbTV has continued to grow rapidly over the last 12 months and the standard is now deployed on a global scale. We continue to see a very healthy interest across the world to adopt HbbTV services and build new applications” stated Klaus Ilgner, chair, HbbTV Association. “Our new Steering Group has the experience, vision and determination to take broadcast TV services to the next level. We look forward to continue our work with HbbTV members, other standards organisations, regulatory organisations and national TV bodies to help us continue bringing new interactive broadcast TV to consumers across the world.”

The newly elected Steering Group includes the following members:

– Andy Hickman, Digital TV Labs
– Bernard Fontaine, France Télévisions
– Frode Hernes, Opera Software
– Henry Rivero, RTL Group SA
– Jon Piesing, TP Vision
– John Adam, Samsung Electronics

– Klaus Illgner-Fehns, IRT
– Mark Londero, Sony Europe
– Nilo Mitra, Ericsson
– Nicolai Leymann, Deutsche Telekom
– Peter MacAvock, EBU
– Regis Saint Girons, httv
– Rob Koenen, TNO
– Steven Morris, Espial
– Stuart Savage, LG Electronics
– Xavier Redon, Abertis Telecom

Categories: Articles, HbbTV, OTT, People