Ofcom invites more local TV applications

Ofcom has invited applications for new local TV channels in seven UK locations – Aberdeen, Ayr, Carlisle, Dundee, Forth Valley, Inverness and Stoke on Trent.

The invitation follows legislation passed in 2011, enabling Ofcom to issue local TV licences allowing the broadcast of local TV channels on digital terrestrial TV.

The first local TV licences were advertised by Ofcom in May 2012. In the first phase, Ofcom awarded 19 local TV licences.

Prior to this advert, Ofcom had invited applications for 18 locations in the second phase of local TV licensing. So far, Ofcom has awarded Middlesbrough, Scarborough, Mold, York, Cambridge, Swansea, Guildford, Reading, Salisbury, Maidstone and Tonbridge, and Basingstoke.

The closing date for applications for the new licences is October 23rd.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login