Azeri satellite tops 80 channels

Four extra local Azerbaijani regional TV channels have just been added to the nation’s first telecoms satellite, Azerspace-1, and taking the craft’s total to more than 80 television and radio channels from 46 degrees East.

BBC Monitoring, which reported the news, says the Azeri’s plan on launching a second such satellite in 2016.

The new DTH channels are regional TV services: northern Quba-based Qutb TV, western Ganca-based Alternativ TV, western Tovuz-based Turkel TV and Region TV partly based in capital Baku and each broadcast through Azerspace-1.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login