Advanced Television

DPP launches Committed to Security Programme

September 15, 2017

Colin Mann @ IBC

The Digital Production Partnership (DPP) has launched a new programme designed to help suppliers demonstrate their commitment to best security practice. The Committed to Security Programme enables companies to apply to complete best practice security checklists for both production and broadcast environments. On successful submission of the completed forms, the company is eligible to display the DPP Committed to Security logo.

“As concern about cybersecurity grows there have been repeated calls for more consistent practice regarding security measures,” said DPP Managing Director Mark Harrison. “But without a common frame of reference, this has been difficult for suppliers. The DPP’s Committed to Security Programme establishes such a best practice framework.”

The new Programme is not intended as a replacement for formal security accreditations, such as ISO 27001, CDSA or CSA STAR. Rather, the DPP aims to create a common language and currency that enables companies to highlight that they are working in good faith to implement and follow cybersecurity best practice in production and broadcast environments. The Programme also underscores their commitment to address cybersecurity issues proactively.

“No scheme can ever guarantee the removal of all cybersecurity breaches,” added Harrison. “But by displaying the DPP Committed to Security logo companies are indicating to their customers that they are addressing cybersecurity in a structured fashion. This is particularly important in multi-vendor environments where continuous change also requires continuous vigilance.”

Over recent months the DPP has been working with a group of DPP Member broadcaster and supplier security experts to develop the checklists as self-assessment documents. DPP Member company and quality assurance expert Eurofins Digital Testing have also been supporting the DPP in the development of the Programme.

As a result of this work, the following companies will be announced at IBC 2017 as early adopters of the logo: Arqiva, Base Media Cloud, Dropbox, The Farm Group, Imagen, Marshall Info Tech, Microsoft, Qvest Media, TVT and Telestream.

In October 2017, the DPP will open the Programme up to the wider industry. DPP Member companies will be eligible to apply as a free Member benefit, while non-Member companies can apply by payment of a license fee. Further details about the Programme will be announced shortly.

Categories: Articles, Broadcast, Services