Advanced Television

MPs approve Burns for Ofcom Chair

December 14, 2017

By Colin Mann

The UK House of Commons Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee has endorsed the appointment of Lord (Terry) Burns as the new Chair of Ofcom, the UK’s communications regulator, following a hearing before the DCMS members.

Burns, the Government’s preferred candidate for the role, will replace Dame Patricia Hodgson in January 2018. It is a four-year appointment with a three day per week time commitment.

Burns was Chairman of broadcaster Channel 4 between 2010 and 2016, and was previously Permanent Secretary at the Treasury.

Categories: Articles, Broadcast, Business, People, Regulation