Advanced Television

Sky/C4 reveal F1 race picks

January 29, 2018

By Colin Mann

UK broadcasters Sky Sports F1 and Channel 4 have revealed the Grands Prix that will be shown live on their respective pay-TV and free-to-air platforms during the 2018 season.

As part of its live coverage of all 21 race weekends from across the globe, Sky Sports F1 will show exclusive coverage of the first grand prix of the season, as Britain’s four-time world champion Lewis Hamilton begins his title defence in Australia.

Fans can enjoy every practice session, qualifying session and race live, with 11 exclusive race weekends, as Sky Sports builds towards becoming the exclusive home of F1 in 2019.

“There is huge anticipation this year,” noted Scott Young, Head of Formula 1 at Sky Sports. “Can Hamilton create even more history, how will Ferrari and Red Bull close the gap, where will the young drivers emerge in the reckoning? Each season we look to find new ways to improve the coverage and entertain our viewers and this year will be no different.”

Separately, Channel 4 has confirmed the ten Grands Prix it will broadcast live in 2018, which will include the 2018 Formula 1 British Grand Prix on July 8th and the 2018 Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix on May 27th.

As part of its deal with Formula One World Championship Limited, Channel 4 will broadcast live coverage of ten Grands Prix, including practice sessions, qualifying and in depth race analysis.

Channel 4 will also broadcast extensive highlights of all other Formula 1 races in the 2018 season, with all live races and highlights programmes available to watch live (simulcast) and on demand on All 4.

All live races will be broadcast without advertising breaks.

Channel 4’s 2018 coverage opens on 25 March with build up to, and comprehensive highlights coverage of the 2018 Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix weekend. Channel 4’s first live race will be the 2018 Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix broadcast over the weekend of 7th April.

Following a picks process with Sky Sports, the full list of races broadcast live by Channel 4 is:

Bahrain – 8th April; Azerbaijan – 29th April; Monaco – 27th May; Austria – 1st July; Great Britain – 8th July; Belgium – 26th August; Singapore – 16th September; Japan – 7th October; USA – 21st October and Abu Dhabi – 25th November.

Channel 4 will broadcast all live and highlights coverage in high definition.

“We’re set for another compelling, action packed season and viewers can follow the whole story on C4, All4 and @C4F1,” advised Stephen Lyle, Channel 4 Head of F1. “Once again, the most iconic races are available Live and free to air as well as the season finale, with all fans hoping this one goes right to the wire.”

Categories: Articles, Broadcast, Catch Up, Content, DTH/Satellite, FTA, Pay TV, Premium, Rights, VOD