Advanced Television

Spain: Second DTT migration phase under way

October 25, 2019

From David Del Valle in Madrid

The readjustment of antennas as a result of the DTT migration is entering the second phase in Spain with Madrid and Catalonia starting to make the change from mid-November.

1,433 municipalities in Madrid, Catalonia, Canarias, Cantabria and some in Aragon, Castellón, Castilla-La Mancha and Castilla y León will be affected in this new phase totalling almost 4,000 municipalities including the first phase, representing 50 per cent of the territory. In Madrid, 112,000 buildings with 4.78 million people, will be affected.

For the DTT migration, Spain has been divided into 75 geographical areas, out of which 43 have started the migration with the remainder to commence in the first quarter of 2020.

DTT migration must be completed before June 2020.

Categories: Articles, Broadcast, DTT/DSO