Criminals reactivating dormant Netflix accounts

  •   
  •   
  •   

A number of Netflix customers who cancelled their subscription have had their accounts reactivated without their consent.

An investigation conducted by BBC Radio 4’s You & Yours programme found that criminals have been logging-in to dormant accounts and reactivating them without even knowing users’ bank details.

Netflix says wants it to be easy for customers to re-join, and consequently customer data is held on the site for 10 months, including billing details. The streaming giant added that this information is available to members who choose to cancel and they will delete it all if requested by email.

There is a lucrative market for Netflix login details, with criminals selling ‘lifetime’ accounts for as little as £3.


  •   
  •   
  •   

You must be logged in to post a comment Login