Advanced Television

The Royal Television Society announces Nominations for Television Journalism Awards 2020

January 30, 2020

The Royal Television Society (RTS), Britain’s leading forum for television and related media, has unveiled the nominations for its 2020 Television Journalism Awards, sponsored by Avid. The BBC leads the way with 28 nominations overall across 17 of the 19 categories, followed by ITV with 10 nominations.

The prestigious awards will be presented at a ceremony hosted by Sky News presenter Anna Botting on the 26th February 2020 at the London Hilton on Park Lane. The awards, which span both news and current affairs, seek to recognise creative and excellent journalism by organisations whose broadcasts are transmitted on a UK-based platform, or who create online video content from a UK production base.

Simon Bucks, Chair, RTS Television Journalism Awards, said: “The quality of entries this year has been better than ever. With such a high bar, competition to reach the short list was hotly contested and all the nominees in every category would be worthy winners.”

The full list of nominations is as follows:

Breaking News


  • Turkey’s Incursion into Syria CNN International
  • Hong Kong BBC Newschannel
  • Hong Kong Protesters Storm Legislative Council CNN International


Camera Operator of the Year


  • Ben Martin – Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4
  • Mstyslav Chernov Associated Press
  • Wang Xiqing – BBC News BBC One


Current Affairs – Home


  • Panorama –  Undercover Hospital Abuse Scandal BBC Panorama for BBC One
  • Exposure – The Priory: Teenage Mental Health Uncovered Hardcash Productions for ITV
  • Spotlight on The Troubles: A Secret History BBC NI for BBC Four and BBC One Northern Ireland


Current Affairs – International


  • This World – One Day in Gaza BBC Current Affairs London for BBC Two
  • Exposure – Undercover: Inside China’s Digital Gulag Hardcash Productions for ITV
  • For Sama ITN Productions for Channel 4


Daily News Programme of the Year


  • News at Ten ITN for ITV
  • BBC News at Ten BBC News for BBC One
  • Newsnight BBC Two


Digital Award


  • Why are transgender people self-medicating? Sky News for Snapchat Discover and YouTube
  • Modern Masculinity – Men need meaning and responsibility The Guardian for The Guardian / YouTube
  • Uncovered – Mexico Femicide ITN for Online


Interview of the Year


  • Harry and Meghan: An African Journey – Duchess of Sussex ITN Productions and ITV News for ITV
  • Andrew Neil interviews Boris Johnson BBC News for BBC One
  • The Prince Andrew Interview – Newsnight BBC Two


Nations and Regions Current Affairs


  • The Pub Bombings BBC Birmingham for BBC England
  • Spotlight – Paisley in Paradise BBC Northern Ireland
  • Disclosure: Who Killed Emma? BBC Scotland for BBC One Scotland


Nations and Regions News


  • ITV News London – Domestic Abuse: The Crime Behind Closed Doors ITN for ITV
  • BBC Look North (Yorkshire) – Floods November 2019 BBC Yorkshire for BBC One
  • BBC South East Today – Shoreham Special programme BBC South East for BBC One


Nations and Regions Presenter of the Year

  • Mark Carruthers – The View; Sunday Politics NI; Election 2019 BBC Northern Ireland
  • Riz Lateef BBC London for BBC One
  • Tony Morris – ITV News – Granada Reports ITV News for ITV


Network Presenter of the Year


  • Emily Maitlis – Newsnight BBC Two
  • Tom Bradby – ITV News ITN for ITV
  • Victoria Derbyshire – Victoria Derbyshire Programme BBC One and BBC Newschannel


News Channel of the Year


  • BBC Newschannel
  • CNN International
  • Sky News


News Coverage – Home


  • Britain’s Hidden Children’s Homes – Newsnight BBC Two
  • The Murder of Lyra McKee – Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4
  • The Death of Molly Russell – BBC News for BBC News


News Coverage – International


  • The Migrant Crisis: Death on the Channel – ITV News ITN for ITV
  • Inside Syria – Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4
  • The Missing Muslims of Xinjiang – BBC News at Ten BBC News for BBC One


News Technology


  • Click 1000 – BBC Click BBC for BBC News
  • Vote Coder BBC News
  • First Lives from the Deep Sky News and Associated Press


Scoop of the Year


  • Undercover with the Clerics: Iraq’s Secret Sex Trade –  BBC Arabic Investigates BBC News Arabic for BBC One
  • Harry Dunn Sky News
  • The Prince Andrew Interview – Newsnight BBC Two


Specialist Journalist of the Year


  • Alex Crawford – War Crimes & Crimes against Humanity Sky News
  • Dan Rivers – ITV News ITN for ITV
  • Rohit Kachroo – ITV News ITN for ITV


Television Journalist of the Year


  • Gabriel Gatehouse – Newsnight BBC Two
  • Nima Elbagir CNN International
  • Stuart Ramsay Sky News


Young Talent of the Year


  • Ben Hunte – BBC News for BBC One
  • Martha Kelner Sky News
  • Yousra Elbagir – Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4

Judges’ Award

The winner of this Award will be announced at the Awards Ceremony

Outstanding Contribution Award

The winner of this Award will be announced at the Awards Ceremony

Categories: Press Releases