Advanced Television

Radio, audio and podcast nominations for this year’s BPG Awards revealed

February 25, 2021

Louis Theroux, Emma Barnett, Stanley Tucci, Iain Dale, DJ Ace, Seani B, Jacqui Smith, Frank Skinner and Clara Amfo are among a wide range of broadcasters shortlisted in this year’s Broadcasting Press Guild (BPG) audio awards, for performances on radio and in podcasts.

Theroux is nominated for his lockdown podcast ‘Grounded with Louis Theroux’, which set out to “track down some high-profile people he’s been longing to talk to – from all walks of life and on both sides of the Atlantic”. It’s one of several BPG audio nominations reflecting issues of health and well-being during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The chair of the BPG audio jury, journalist and broadcaster Scott Bryan, said: “Radio and podcasting have been more important than ever this year, when we’ve all been apart from our friends and loved ones. Many of us have relied on audio not just to stay informed, but to stay connected and have some companionship too.

“The jury, including some of the UK’s best critics and journalists, were blown away by the quality and purpose of audio this year, covering important issues such as the coronavirus pandemic, Black Lives Matter and the importance of taking care of our own mental health.”

The BPG Television, Streaming and Audio Awards – for work commissioned or premiered in the UK and released in 2020 – are prized by programme-makers because they are chosen independently by TV and radio correspondents, critics and previewers.

This year, instead of the usual BPG Awards lunch – attended by the winners, BPG members and guests – the 47th Awards will be a virtual event at lunchtime on Friday March 12th 2021. The winners will be announced – and the awards accepted – on the BPG’s Twitter account @BPGPressAwards #BPGAwards.

Grounded with Louis Theroux (BBC Radio 4/BBC Sounds) is shortlisted as UK Podcast of the Year alongside For The Many with Iain Dale and Jacqui Smith (LBC); How Do You Cope?…with Elis and John (BBC Radio 5 Live); The Log Books, by Shivani Dave, Tash Walker and Adam Zmith; and The Stubborn Light of Things with Melissa Harrison.

Emma Barnett, the new Radio 4 Woman’s Hour presenter, is nominated as Radio Broadcaster of the Year for her Radio 5 Live morning show, which she presented till the end of 2020. She will compete with Clara Amfo (BBC Radio 1), Frank Skinner (Absolute Radio) and Matt Chorley of Times Radio, which started broadcasting in June last year.

A 1Xtra Talks Special – George Floyd and Black Lives Matter with Seani B and DJ Ace – is nominated for Radio Programme of the Year, along with #NS10v10 (No Signal), Between the Ears (BBC Radio 3), The Californian Century, presented by Stanley Tucci (BBC Radio 4) and The Great Post Office Trial (BBC Radio 4).

Categories: Press Releases

Tags: ,