Advanced Television

Peter Taylor OBE to give Fifth Steve Hewlett Lecture

October 28, 2021

The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced the distinguished BBC journalist Peter Taylor OBE has agreed to give the fifth Steve Hewlett lecture on “Integrity in Television. 50 Years through the Lens” on December 15th 2021 at 6.00 pm at the University of Westminster. The lecture is co-sponsored by the Royal Television Society and the Media Society, with a reception taking place afterwards in the Portland Hall.

As one of the most trusted reporters in British television, Peter Taylor has been in ‘the trade’ for fifty years, with his reporting on political violence in Ireland and the Middle East being recognised with a Lifetime Achievement Awards from the RTS and BAFTA.

Peter Taylor OBE, said: “Integrity means fairness, impartiality and trust – the bedrock of the BBC and Public Service Broadcasting, both of which are under threat as never before. Their survival is central to our freedoms and the health of our democracy.”


Chairman of the Scholarship Fund, Sir Clive Jones CBE, added: “We are delighted Peter will deliver this year’s Hewlett at a time when the future of public service broadcasting is both under debate and under threat. The annual lecture we created in Steve’s memory has become one of the significant events in the industry’s calendar and Peter’s lecture promises to maintain the thought-provoking, insightful tradition set by our distinguished array of previous speakers.”

Theresa Wise CEO of the Royal Television Society, said: “The RTS is delighted that Peter has agreed to give this year’s lecture.  Peter has been much honoured for his great work – not least by the Royal Television Society!  He has much to teach current and future journalistic talent and I am fascinated to hear from him on a range of critical subjects”

Previous in person Hewlett lecturers have been Nick Robinson, Mark Thompson, Charlotte Moore and virtually in a 2020 panel, Greg Dyke, Alex Mahon, Claire Enders, Tim Davie, Mark Damazer and Sir Peter Bazalgette.

Proceeds of the lecture will go to the Steve Hewlett Scholarship Fund which is chaired by Sir Clive Jones and is managed by him, Steve’s widow Rachel Crellin and John Mair. That fund was set up following the death of Steve in 2017 and to date five Hewlett scholars have been helped through media/journalism courses at universities across the UK. These scholars include:

Oliver Cummins Hylton – after graduating in 2020 – BA Hons in Broadcast Journalism from Salford University. Olly continued his studies at Salford with an MA in documentary film making. He was the first scholar and is now working at a major indie Blast! Films.

Liam Warden – graduated 2021 – BA Hons in Journalism from Sheffield University. He has recently been offered a place at the Sky Content Academy and is about to start at Sky sports.  Liam said: “It has been a privilege and an honour to be an RTS Steve Hewlett Scholar during my time at university. The scholarship put me on a financial level playing field with other students and support through mentoring and work experience gave me confidence, insight and guidance about my skills and employability.

The best part about the scholarship was the work experience opportunities that allowed me to gain invaluable experience in a live newsroom environment. I will never forget working on the General Election in 2019 with Sky News. This experience proved to be gold dust during a post Covid world where competitions for jobs is so fierce. This gave me an edge and helped me get my first job in the industry with Sky”.

Georgia Keetch – graduated 2021 – BA Hons Journalism at University of Sussex. She is currently editor in chief of The Badger – the university newspaper. She is now doing an MA In Media and Cultural Studies at the University.

Oisin Tomas O Raghallaigh is currently studying PPE at the Queens University, Belfast.

Khadija Uddin is studying BA Hons in Journalism, Communications and Politics at Cardiff University. The next Hewlett Scholar will be selected on November 2nd 2021.


Categories: Press Releases