Advanced Television

Mosaku, Dooley, Maitlis, Coel, Moore amongst winners at The 30th Women in Film and TV Awards

December 3, 2021

The 30th Women in Film and TV (UK) Awards have taken place at the Park Lane Hilton celebrating 2021’s inspiring women from the film and TV industry, with fourteen awards categories covering all aspects of the industry including directing, performance, producing, business and project management.

Hosted for the first time by Mel Giedroyc, a previous recipient of the Presenter Award jointly with Sue Perkins, the prestigious Women in Film and TV Awards celebrates the achievements of the UK’s most talented women in front and behind the camera.

With a career spanning over 60 years, multi-award-winning actor Glenda Jackson was honoured with The EON Productions Lifetime Achievement Award, accepted on her behalf by Aisling Walsh, who directed Jackson in BBC One’s Elizabeth is Missing.  Glenda Jackson joins a list of previous winners of the Women in Film and TV Lifetime Achievement award including Floella Benjamin, Judi Dench, Sheila Hancock, Katherine Hepburn, Helen Mirren, Joanna Lumley, Esther Rantzen, Vanessa Redgrave, and Maggie Smith.

Speaking of her Lifetime Achievement Award Glenda Jackson said “I am honoured to receive the Women in Film and TV Lifetime Achievement Award and thanks to Aisling for accepting it on my behalf today. These Awards are such a wonderful celebration of the achievements by so many incredible women in our industry. Thank you to everyone at Women in Film TV for the fantastic work you continue to do across the industry to improve opportunities for women in front and behind the camera, long may it continue”

Wunmi Mosaku, star of the award-winning drama Our Loved Boy won The Argonon Best Performance Award presented to her by Gugu Mbatha-Raw, who she starred with in Marvel Studios’ Loki. Stacey Dooley was awarded with The EIKON Presenter Award by Ria Hebden, and I May Destroy You writer and actor Michaela Coel won The ScreenSkills Writing Award, which was picked up on her behalf by Gugu Mbatha-Raw,

Journalist and broadcaster Emily Maitlis and producer Sam McAllister were jointly awarded with The BBC News and Factual Award by Andrew Marr, comedian and presenter Michael McIntyre handed out The YouTube Contribution to the Medium Award to the BBC’s Chief Content Officer Charlotte Moore, with ITV’s Creative Diversity Partner Nahrein Kemp taking home The ITV Studios Achievement of the Year accolade, presented to her by Alex Scott.

Celebrating the brilliant creative work of women behind the scenes this year, Managing Director of Douglas Road Productions Angela Ferriera was handed The Premiere Digital Business Award by Anita Rani, with Joanna Scanlan presenting The Company 3 Director Award to Jenny Ash, while producer Lisa Walters was awarded with The Netflix New Talent Award by Maggie Gyllenhaal.

Alan Titchmarsh presented The Gravity Media Technology Award to Kate Davis, who he has collaborated with on multiple TV projects, with Camera Operator Ilana Garrard receiving The MBSE Craft Award from Max Harwood, who she worked with on the Netflix hit show Sex Education. The Envy Producer Award went to Anna Hall presented to her by Louis Theroux, and comedian Lou Sanders presented the IMDb Project Management Award to production manager Alex Boyd whose recent work includes the upcoming historical thriller, The Northman.


Katie Bailiff, CEO of WFTV said “What our WFTV Awards have continued to highlight over the last 30 years is the huge number of talented and brilliant women working in film and TV in the UK. The last 18 months has shown us more than ever that the women of this industry are resilient, creative, and resourceful even when pitted against the greatest challenges. It’s been inspirational to witness. Today is our chance to celebrate them and their incredible achievements.”

WFTV Awards presenter Mel Giedroyc added “I’m absolutely thrilled to have presented the Women in Film and TV Awards today and to be amongst so many brilliantly talented women. Thank you to Women in Film and TV for inviting me to be part of this wonderful day, it’s been such a joy to celebrate the outstanding work by women in all areas of our industry, and many congratulations to all the winners today”

The first Women in Film and TV (UK) Awards took place in 1990 to recognise the achievements of some of the most successful women the industry could boast, and thirty years on, the Awards are the UK’s largest annual celebration of women working in film, TV, and digital media.

This year’s ceremony saw a wealth of talent from stage and screen attending to celebrate the achievements of some of the most prolific women in the film and television industry, guests included Angelica Bell, Hermione Corfield, Kerry Godliman, Sarah Kendall, Zara McDermott, Stacey Solomon, and Holly Walsh.

Categories: Press Releases

Tags: , , , , ,