Advanced Television

Into Film Awards 2022 winners announced

June 28, 2022

Education charity Into Film has announced the winners of its Into Film Awards at a star-studded ceremony in ODEON Luxe Leicester Square, London. Hosted by broadcaster and comedian, Sue Perkins, the event featured celebrity presenters including Lashana Lynch, Eddie Redmayne, Morfydd Clark, Jack Lowden, Tom Ellis, Joanne Froggatt, Stacey Dooley, Michael Ajao, Anson Boon, Aliyah Odoffin, Celyn Jones, Emma Appleton, Ben Shires, Sebastian Croft, Sheyi Cole, Thaddea Graham, Marli Siu, Lola Petticrew, and Samuel Adewunmi.

From incredible Into Film Clubs, educators and young review writers to a host of remarkable films submitted across six filmmaking categories, the Into Film Awards celebrates the best the UK has to offer in filmmaking and the use of film in education.

“The Into Film Awards shines a spotlight on emerging young filmmakers and helps young people understand the career opportunities the screen industry might hold for them, bringing in new talent and addressing the critical technical and craft shortage we are facing in the industry,” commented Barbara Broccoli, Bond Producer and Into Film Trustee

This year’s winners include some truly inspiring stories, from a young disabled filmmaker based in Edinburgh who created her entire film using an eye gaze communicator, to a group of girls from Manchester who used their film club to celebrate diversity and female empowerment. Meanwhile, the youth-made films cover a wide range of themes and topics including the impact of lockdown on mental health, climate change, bereavement, OCD and anxiety.

The 2022 Into Film Award winners are:

Changes for a Better World: This new category asked young people to consider the environmental crisis, and to look ahead to the future and imagine the changes they want to see and create.

  • ‘Change Direction’ – Made by Greta McMillan (18) and Nick from Portobello High School – Edinburgh, Scotland

Best Animation – 11 and Under:

  • ‘The Lonely Polar Bear’ – Made by young filmmaker Alex with Screen Education Edinburgh – Edinburgh, Scotland

Best Animation – 12 and Over:

  • ‘Mia’ – Made by young filmmaker Zoe (16) – Aberdeen, Scotland

Best Film – 11 and Under:

  • ‘The Year the World Changed’ – Made by Lucia, Olivia, Yvie, Olivier, Maisie, Sophie, and Bella from Bessacarr Primary School – Doncaster, England

Best Film – 12-15:

  • ‘Food Fight’ – Made by a group of 24 pupils at Pauline Quirk Academy – Essex, England

Best Film – 16-19:

  • ‘Driven to Despair’ – Made by young filmmaker Freya (17) – Coventry, England

Ones to Watch – in partnership with BFI Film Academy.

Three phenomenal young people who have already achieved an incredible amount in the world of film were nominated as we believe they all have the potential to do greater things in the industry. Each nominee will receive industry mentoring and the overall winner, an additional prize of £1000.

  • Eden Quine-Taylor (18) – Crickhowell, Wales

Into Film Club of the Year:

  • EGLAM (Eden Girls Leadership Academy) – Manchester, England

Teacher of the Year:

  • Jemma Evans – Penybont Primary SchoolBridgend, Wales

Review of the Year:

  • Ella (15) – Chichester, England

The Into Film Awards are organised by education charity, Into Film, made possible with support from the film industry through sponsorship and supported by the BFI using National Lottery funding, thanks to National Lottery players, and the UK film industry through Cinema First. The National Lottery raises £36 million each week for good causes across the UK.

Categories: Press Releases

Tags: , , ,