Advanced Television

Royal Television Society announces nominations for Journalism Awards 2023

February 8, 2023

Britain’s leading forum for television and media, the Royal Television Society (RTS), has shortlisted the nominations for the prestigious RTS Television Journalism Awards 2023, in partnership with Wolftech and Dataminr. The awards ceremony will take place on March 1st 2023 at the London Hilton on Park Lane and will be hosted by Dan Walker, 5 News.

The awards celebrate creativity and excellence in journalism and across the 20 competitive categories, the BBC leads the way with 26 nominations, followed by ITV with 14 and Sky with nine. New for this year is the Political Journalist of the Year category, for which Paul Brand and Anushka Asthana have been nominated for ITV1, along with Beth Rigby for Sky News.

Replacing the Digital Award, the Innovation Award and On-Demand Journalism category saw a range of high-quality and informative submissions. The Innovation Award includes nominations for Ros Atkins On…Explainers for BBC News, BBC News: Undercover Voters for BBC Newsnight and Here’s The Story for ITV News Digital. Ukraine Front Line Medics for BBC News, Should I Tell You I’m Trans? Disclosure for BBC iPlayer and The Saudi Prince: How Dangerous is MBS? for The Economist on YouTube all received nods for the inaugural On-Demand Journalism category.

In further categories, Al Jazeera English, BBC News and Sky News are all in the running for the coveted News Channel of the Year award. For the highly anticipated Young Talent of the Year, which celebrates the best work in news or current affairs during the year by an on or off-screen journalist, editor, video journalist, camera operator or technician, Marianna Spring for the BBC, Inzamam Rashid for Sky News and Vasilisa Stepanenko for The Associated Press are all being recognised.

Simon Bucks, Chair of the RTS Television Journalism Awards, said: “The quality of the entries this year was the highest I can remember, a reflection of an immense and challenging twelve months for all news providers. There were so many huge and important stories, covered across the board with dedication, integrity, skill and enterprise. The result was a wide range of first-class entries, any one of which would be a brilliant winner in its category, further highlighting that the Television Journalism Awards remain the Gold Standard in outstanding video journalism.”

Please see below the full list of nominees:

Breaking News

  • Liz Truss Resigns – BBC News for BBC News Channel
  • Death of HM the Queen – BBC News for BBC One
  • Russian Invasion of Ukraine – CNN International

Camera Operator of the Year

  • Darren Conway, DC, BBC News for BBC One
  • Natalie Thomas – Reuters
  • Mstyslav Chernov – The Associated Press

Current Affairs – Home

  • Abuse of Power – Tim Westwood – BBC News & BBC Current Affairs for BBC Three
  • The Post Office Scandal – Panorama BBC Current Affairs for BBC One
  • The Crossing – Exposure DM Documentary Productions for ITV1

Current Affairs – International

  • Under Poisoned Skies – BBC World News BBC News Arabic Investigations for BBC News Arabic
  • Mariupol – The People’s Story – Panorama Top Hat Productions / Hayloft Productions for BBC One
  • Afghanistan – No Country For Women – Exposure Quicksilver Media for ITV1

Innovation Award    

  • Ros Atkins On… Explainers – BBC for BBC News Channel, BBC World News, BBC News at Six & Ten
  • BBC News: Undercover Voters – BBC Newsnight – BBC News for BBC One / BBC Two / BBC World & BBC News Channel
  • Here’s The Story – ITV News Digital – ITN / ITV News for ITV News digital / ITV1

Nations and Regions Factual         

  • Spotlight – The Babymaker Uncovered – BBC NI for BBC One Northern Ireland
  • The Great Ferries Scandal – Disclosure BBC Scotland for BBC One Scotland
  • The Hidden World of Football – BBC Wales Investigates BBC Wales for BBC One Wales

Nations and Regions News

  • The East Kent Hospitals Baby Scandal – ITV Meridian East ­– ITV Meridian for ITV
  • Manchester Arena Inquiry – Emergency Response – Granada Reports – ITV News for ITV
  • Dying On The Streets: News Special – UTV Live UTV

Nations and Regions Reporter of the Year

  • Colin Campbell – BBC South East Today – BBC South East for BBC One
  • Rags Martel – ITV London News – ITN / ITV News for ITV1
  • Amy Welch – ITV News Granada Reports – ITV Granada for ITV

Network Daily News Programme of the Year       

  • BBC News at Ten – BBC News for BBC One
  • Channel 4 News – ITN for Channel 4
  • Sky News at Ten – Sky News

Network Interview of the Year        

  • Lukashenko Rosenberg – BBC News for BBC News Channel
  • Jason Farrell interviews Leona Whitworth – Sky News
  • Beth Rigby Interviews Prime Minister Boris Johnson – Sky News

Network Presenter of the Year       

  • Clive Myrie – BBC News for BBC One
  • Huw Edwards – BBC News for BBC One
  • Susanna Reid – Good Morning Britain ITV Studios for ITV1

Network Television Journalist of the Year

  • Jeremy Bowen – BBC News for BBC One
  • Paul Brand – ITN / ITV News for ITV1
  • Stuart Ramsay – Sky News

News Channel of the Year

  • Al Jazeera English
  • BBC News Channel
  • Sky News

News Coverage – Home      

  • NHS On The Brink – Newsnight – BBC News for BBC Two
  • Partygate – ITV News – ITN / ITV News for ITV1
  • Violence Against Women and Girls – Sky News

News Coverage – International       

  • War in Ukraine – BBC News for BBC One
  • Ukraine: On The Frontline – Sky News
  • 20 Days in Mariupol – The Associated Press

On-Demand Journalism      

  • Ukraine Front Line Medics – BBC News for BBC
  • Should I Tell You I’m Trans? Disclosure – iPlayer Shorts – BBC Scotland for BBC iPlayer
  • The Saudi Prince: How Dangerous is MBS? – The Economist – Economist Films for YouTube

Political Journalist of the Year       

  • Paul Brand – ITV News – ITN / ITV News for ITV1
  • Anushka Asthana – ITV News – ITN / ITV News for ITV1
  • Beth Rigby ­– Sky News

Scoop of the Year    

  • Pincher: What the PM Knew – BBC News for BBC
  • Partygate – ITV News – ITN / ITV News for ITV1
  • 20 Days in Mariupol – The Associated Press

Specialist Journalist of the Year

  • Michael Buchanan – BBC News for BBC One
  • Paraic O’Brien – The Refugee and Migrant Crises Channel 4 News – ITN for Channel 4
  • Dan Rivers – War Crimes – ITV News ITN / ITV News for ITV1

Young Talent of the Year    

  • Marianna Spring, Disinformation and Social Media Correspondent – BBC News for BBC One and BBC Two
  • Inzamam Rashid – Sky News
  • Vasilisa Stepanenko, Ukraine War – The Associated Press


Categories: Press Releases

Tags: , , ,