Advanced Television

3 candidates for CMS Committee Chair election

May 16, 2023

By Colin Mann

Three candidates will be on the ballot paper for the position of Chair of the Culture, Media and Sport Committee after nominations closed.

The ballot of all Members of the UK’s House of Commons will take place between 11am and 2.30pm on May 17th.

The candidates are:

  • Damian Collins, MP for Folkestone and Hythe
  • Dame Caroline Dinenage, MP for Gosport
  • Damian Green, MP for Ashford

MPs will vote by ranking candidates in order of preference and votes will be counted under the Alternative Vote system.

The results will be announced in the Chamber later in the day under the direction of the Speaker. The Member elected to chair the Committee will take up their position with immediate effect and serve to the end of the current Parliament.

Categories: Articles, Business, People, Policy, Regulation

Tags: , , ,