Advanced Television

Uruguay to limit DTT

October 7, 2011

By Chris Forrester

Uruguay’s planning for the roll out of digital terrestrial TV will establish 20 new channels. The capital city of Montevideo will see seven channels reserved for private TV companies, seven for non-profit TV services, and six for public channels. The analogue switch off is scheduled for November 21, 2015.

New DTT licences will run for 15 years, and renewals can be secured. The new rules suggest that, “in each locality of the rest of the country and provided it is technically feasible, three public channels, three channels for commercial companies and three for communitarian TV will be reserved”.

Additionally, current private channels “will be authorised to broadcast a standard definition digital channel with mirror programming of their current analogue channels”. The document sets forth that “commercial digital TV radio broadcasting service holders will not be allowed to cease, lease or transfer, either directly or indirectly, the use of part of such spectrum”.

Categories: Articles, Broadcast, DSO, DTT/DSO