Advanced Television

Short-Form Series recognised at Emmys

October 18, 2016

Colin Mann @ MIPCOM

Reflecting changes in media consumption trends, entertainment industry body the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is to recognise Short-Form Series at the International Emmy Awards Gala, in New York, in November 2017. Original Fiction and Non-Fiction programmes, with episodes under a half-hour will be eligible to enter in next year’s International Emmy Awards competition which opens on December 8, 2016 and closes on February 16, 2017.

Short-Form Series were previously recognised by the International Academy at the International Digital Emmy Awards at MIPtv, with the Digital: Fiction and Non-Fiction categories. The genre is now going to be recognised at the International Emmy Awards Gala in November, in New York starting in 2017.

“As media changes, International Emmy categories change too and we felt we needed to give special recognition to the rapid and important growth of short form in the industry. We are doing this in the first instance by moving the category to our Gala in November,” said Bruce L. Paisner, President & CEO of the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Categories: Articles, Business