Advanced Television

Spain: 98 new DTT licences granted

June 20, 2018

From David Del Valle in Madrid

The Regional Government of Andalucia, in the south of Spain, has granted 98 new local DTT licences for a period of 15 years.

The licences have been awarded through a public tender following the Supreme Court’s decision to annul 79 licences granted in 2008.

The 98 DTT licences, out of the total 111 at stake (13 were declared void) are divided into the 44 demarcations, with 62 in the Andalusian DTT map. Seville and Malaga with 16 licences are the provinces with the largest number, followed by Cadiz and Córdoba, with 15 each.

Local DTT operators now have one year to start operating their licences.

Categories: Articles, Broadcast, DTT/DSO