Advanced Television

Álvarez, Poza and Cavestany among jury members at HISPASAT 4K International Short Film Festival

September 6, 2017

The names of the jury members of the HISPASAT 4K International Short Film Festival have just been announced. Actress Marian Álvarez (Golden Leopard for best actress in the Locarno Film Festival for her role in Lo mejor de mí, Silver Shell at the San Sebastian Film Festival for her role in La herida), director and playwrite Juan Cavestany (Esa sensación, Gente en sitios, Dispongo de barcos, Max Prize 2008 for best Spanish author for the script of Urtain), actress Nathalie Poza (El otro lado de la cama, Julieta, Biznaga de Plata prize for Best Lead Actress in the last edition of the Málaga Festival for No quiero decir adiós), Jesús Ulled (manager of CINE365 Film), Guillermo Niño (Senior Manager, Broadcast, OTT and Home Video at Dolby Laboratories), Edith Martínez Odriozola (director of the Culture and Society Department at TVE), Miguel Ángel Doncel (executive director of SGO), Santiago Sanz (sales manager of optical devices at Fujifilm España), Javier Valdés (founding partner of Ad Hoc Studios) and Luis León (Schedule manager of Atresmedia) will be responsible for selecting the awards in the third edition of the contest. Ignacio Sanchís (Business Director at HISPASAT) will act as president of the jury.

The Hispasat 4K International Festival is one of the first competitions in the world to exclusively feature short films shot and post-produced in 4K. The call for entries ended on 14 June.

This third edition has received 127 projects from 17 countries, an increase of almost 26% compared to 2016. The constant increase in the number of registrations for each edition of the contest proves that the creation of audiovisual content in 4K is gradually being implemented and this innovative technology is expanding.

The finalists will be announced soon, the films being categorised and awarded in the following groups:

     CINE365 FILM AWARD FOR BEST DIRECTOR: Opportunity to direct a feature film.


     DOLBY/ADHOC AWARD FOR BEST SOUND: €1,000 + Dolby Atmos mastering.

     FUJIFILM/SGO AWARD FOR BEST PHOTOGRAPHY: €1,000 + professional photo camera.

     RTVE AWARD FOR BEST SHORT FILM FROM A FILM ACADEMY: €1,000 + short film broadcast on the programme “Versión Española”, where its director will also be interviewed.

     ATRESERIES AWARD FOR BEST SHORT FILM FOR TV: €1,000 + broadcast and promotion of the short film on Atreseries, including an interview with its director.

The other activities and initiatives that make up the contest will also be released shortly. The awards ceremony and the screening of the winning short films will be held on 19 October at the Círculo de Bellas Artes in Madrid.

The Festival, which is promoted by the Spanish satellite operator HISPASAT, is sponsored by the production company Cine365 Film; leading companies in the film production sector such as Dolby Laboratories, SGO, Fujifilm and the sound studio AdHoc; as well as RTVE, the leading television broadcaster in this technological field in Spain, and Atreseries, which given its role as a distributor of audiovisual content, has joined the initiative this year.

Categories: Press Releases