Advanced Television

HbbTV Awards 2017 Winners announced

October 18, 2017

The inaugural HbbTV Awards 2017 were held in Rome on October 17th after the first day of this year’s HbbTV Symposium.

The HbbTV Association confirmed the following winners which were decided by a panel of judges, and led by Matthew Huntington, CTO of Freesat:

Best Use of HbbTV for Advertising and Promotion: R2B2 sro, Automated Yield Management. This entry was considered by the judging panel to be ‘very innovative’ and ‘an interesting business model’.

Best use of HbbTV for Broadcast Enhancement: rbb, Band Camp Berlin. Judges considered this entry ‘original’, a ‘nice idea’ and ‘very comprehensive’.

Best Multiscreen HbbTV Service: Vewd, Vewd Core enhanced with HbbTV 2.0.1 media synchronisation and companion screen support. Judges noted that this entry offered ‘good HbbTV 2 companion screen feature demonstration’.

Best Use of HbbTV for Content Discovery: Digital UK, Freeview Explore. The judges believed that this entry offered ‘seamless integration’.

Best Marketing or Promotion of an HbbTV Based Service: Freeview Australia, Freeview Plus. This was deemed ‘funny’ and ‘innovative’ by judges.

Best Technology Innovation in an HbbTV Product or Service: Media Broadcast, Dash Direct Play. Judges commented that this entry was ‘impressive’ and offered ‘a good technical solution’.

The Judges Grand Prix Prize was awarded to Tivù for ‘a collection of shortlisted entries using many of the HbbTV latest features’.

HbbTV Association Members from around the world awarded the Best Individual Contribution to the HbbTV Association to Thi Thanh Van Nguyen, HbbTV Part Leader, Samsung R&D Institute in recognition of her work in the Testing Group.

Matthew Huntington, CTO of Freesat and Chair of the Judges Panel said:

“We were overwhelmed by the quality and quantity of submissions we received and are delighted that these, the first HbbTV Awards, attracted 71 entries from 17 countries. I’d like to thank everyone who entered as well as our esteemed judges and congratulate our very worthy winners. We hope that these awards will become the definitive industry accolade.”

Categories: Press Releases