Advanced Television

Spain: Big streamers exempted from language quota

December 1, 2021

From David Del Valle in Madrid

Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, Disney+, HBO and other global streaming platforms will not have to meet the 6 per cent previously reported regional language obligation as they are not domiciled in Spain.

The Spanish cabinet approved a new TV law stating that pay-TV platforms will have to dedicate a minimum 6 per cent of their productions in any of the co-official regional languages in the country – namely Catalonian, Galician and Basque.

The obligation, though, will not be applied to US OTT platforms as the 2018 European directive to be incorporated into the Spanish legislation exempts them as their fiscal residence is abroad.

Traditional resident pay-TV operators such as Movistar, Orange, Vodafone and MásMóvil, as well as OTT players like Filmin, FlixOlé, Movistar+, Mitele and Atresplayer will be the only ones who have to meet the new legal obligation.

Categories: Articles, Content, Policy, Production, Regulation, VOD

Tags: , , , , , , , ,