Advanced Television

Ofcom starts second phase local TV licensing

June 19, 2013

Ofcom has commenced the second phase of local TV licensing, inviting applications for new channels in seven locations across the UK.

Following the award of 19 licences in the first phase, Ofcom is now opening up applications for local TV channels in Bangor, Cambridge, Middlesbrough, Mold, Scarborough, Swansea and York. These are the initial locations in the second phase of licensing.

The closing date for applications is September 11th 2013. Ofcom intends to advertise the remaining phase 2 locations over the course of the next year.

Categories: Articles, Broadcast, DTT/DSO, FTA