Advanced Television

5 new DTT channels for Spain in 2015

December 17, 2014

From David Del Valle in Madrid

The Spanish government  has confirmed the awarding of 5 new DTT licences for the launch of four HD and one SD channel in 2015, through a public tender or by auction in the first half of the year. 

Three of the HD channels will be part of a new multiplex whereas the fourth will share frequency with RTVE’s La 1 HD and Teledeporte HD on the multiplex RGE2 – currently operated by RTVE which takes 66 per cent of its capacity. The SD channel will share its frequency with Energy, Boing and Gol TV. 
Spain’s new DTT map will be composed of eight DTT multiplexes, of which three will be operated by public broadcasters (two by RTVE and one by regional broadcasters) and five by private TV stations.

Currently, following the closure of 9 DTT channels, Spaniards can watch 15 national DTT channels: Six operated by Mediaset (Telecinco, Cuatro, FDF, Divinity, Energy and Boing); Five by Atresmedia (Antena 3, La Sexta, Neox, Nova and Gol TV); Two from Veo TV rented to Discovery Max and 13 TV; Two from Net TV rented to Disney Channel and Paramount Channel. With the new channels, the DTT offer available will be 20 DTT channels with a national coverage and with new potential media groups breaking into the market.

Meanwhile, there is Industry and market pressure on the Spanish government to delay the digital switch-off and the DTT reset deadline as a result of the digital dividend seems to be bearing fruit as the Administration is seriously considering to extend it. 

“We are studying whether to extend that deadline”, confirmed the minister of Industry, Jose Manuel Soria, adding that the decision will be known “in any case before the end of the year”.

Categories: Articles, Broadcast, DTT/DSO