Advanced Television

Finalists announced for the Eutelsat TV Awards 2016!

September 28, 2016

The world of television that we enjoy in and out of the home as well as in the palm of our hands is a world of boundless creativity, inspiration, courage and innovation. These qualities are some of the many fuelling the drive of channels shortlisted for one of this year’s prestigious Eutelsat TV Awards.

The Eutelsat TV Awards is the only international event shining a spotlight on the quality of thematic TV channels broadcast around the world. The jury, chaired by award-winning RAI journalist Duilio Giammaria, and assembling media experts from diverse markets, met in Paris from 24 to 25 September to assess the quality, innovation and creativity of over 120 channels from 40 countries. The judges faced the challenge of finalising a shortlist from an outstanding array of entries. The winning channels in eight thematic categories will be honoured at a ceremony in Milan on 25 November. Awards will also be bestowed for Best Programmes.

All participating channels in the Eutelsat TV Awards are now entitled to compete for the People’s Choice Award that will go to the channel generating most votes by the viewing public.

Voting for this coveted Award runs from 28 September to 2 November via channel websites as well as and other popular sites including, and

Finalists for the 2016 Eutelsat TV Awards:


Fix&Foxi Germany Dom Kino Russia
Nickelodeon (Germany) Germany Sinema Zetu Tanzania
RTL Kockica Croatia Sky Cinema 1 HD Italy
Culture / Documentary Fiction / General Entertainment
BBC Earth Poland Sundance Channel Poland
FunBox 4K USA TNT Russia
Sky Arte Italy ZAP Viva Angola
Lifestyle Music
Arewa24 Nigeria Poland
Bober Russia C Music TV UK
Roya TV Jordan Trace TV France
News Sport
BBC Persian UK Eurosport (Germany) Germany
Ennahar TV News Algeria OTE Sports Highlights HD Greece
FRANCE 24 France RAI Sport 1 HD Italy


Best programme
Re-Enactors! (Canal+ Discovery) Poland
Iran’s Nuclear Deal (BBC Persian) UK
Currentzis – The Classical Rebel (Deutsche Welle) Germany
Mystery of the Lost Caravaggio – (Sky Arte) Italy


The jury: Jerzy Barski, TV-Sat Magazine (Poland), Frédéric Vaulpré, Eurodata TV (France), Robert Briel, Broadband TV News (UK), Paolo Dalla Chiara, Pentastudio (Italy), Dmitry Dibrov, journalist and TV presenter (Russia), Giacomo Mazzone, EBU/Eurovisioni, Tayfun Atay, Cumhuriyet / Okan University (Turkey), Reem Nouss, Executive producer / TV consultant (UK). Jury chairman: Duilio Giammaria, RAI (Italy). Technical expert: Mauro Roffi, Millecanali (Italy).


Categories: Broadcast, DTH/Satellite, Press Releases