Advanced Television

Ofcom invites 11 further local TV licences

September 24, 2013

Ofcom is inviting applications for licences to run local TV channels in 11 further locations across the UK.

They are: Barnstaple, Basingstoke, Derry/Londonderry, Gloucester, Guildford, Limavady, Luton, Maidstone, Plymouth, Reading and Salisbury. The closing date for applications is January 7th 2014.

This new invitation to apply follows the advertisement earlier this year of licences for Bangor, Cambridge, Middlesbrough, Mold, Scarborough, Swansea and York. Ofcom has received 10 applications for these areas and will award the licences in the coming months. It is possible that these services will be on air by the end of 2014.

Ofcom has already awarded 19 local TV licences, with the first channel, Estuary TV (Grimsby), expected to launch in November 2013.

Ofcom intends to advertise one more set of locations next year. Awarding licences in these different stages will minimise the length of time between applications being submitted and licence awards being made.

These licences are for channels on the Freeview platform (i.e. digital terrestrial television), but the local operators may also wish to offer their services on satellite, cable and online.

Categories: Articles, Broadcast, DTT/DSO, FTA