Advanced Television

Aereo adds four new cities

September 25, 2013

By Colin Mann

Having gained the upper hand in court battles with US network broadcasters who claim copyright infringement, Internet TV streaming service Aereo has named four new cities to its nationwide expansion: Columbus and Cincinnati, Ohio, Indianapolis, Indiana and San Antonio, Texas.

These four metropolitan areas represent a total population of nearly eight million people. Columbus, Cincinnati, Indianapolis, and San Antonio join Aereo’s list of 22 expansion cities announced earlier this year. To date, Aereo has launched its technology in New York City, Boston, Atlanta, Salt Lake City, Miami, Houston and Dallas, with plans to continue launching the remaining identified expansion cities throughout 2013 and 2014.

“The consumers spoke and we listened, so we’re adding these cities to our first phase of expansion,” said Aereo CEO and Founder Chet Kanojia. “From Boston to Salt Lake City, people are craving alternatives and more choice with how they watch television. Consumers are tired of being pawns in the tug-of-war between big businesses. They deserve better. At Aereo, our work is focused on delivering the best customer experience with the highest quality technology. We’ve set a high bar for ourselves, consumers deserve no less.”

Consumers who reside in the Columbus, Cincinnati, Indianapolis and San Antonio metropolitan areas can pre-register at to receive priority access to Aereo at launch. Launch dates for these cities will be announced later this year.

Aereo’s technology works on ‘smart’ devices from tablets to phones to laptop computers. Aereo is currently supported on iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch, Chrome, Internet Explorer 9, Firefox, Safari, Opera. Consumers can use Aereo on their big-screen televisions using AppleTV (via airplay) and Roku devices. Android support is expected this autumn.


Categories: Articles, IPTV, OTT, OTT