Advanced Television

Collins, Dinenage initial CMS Committee Chair nominees

May 4, 2023

By Colin Mann

Nominations have opened for Chair of the new Select Committee on Culture, Media and Sport in the UK House of Commons following the resignation of Julian Knight, with Acting Chair Damian Collins MP and Dame Caroline Dinenage MP being the first nominees.

The nominations period runs from April 25th to May 16th. The new Chair will be elected from the Conservative Party.

Since 2010, Collins has been a member of the Culture, Media and Sport select committee for seven years, and for half that time was its Chair.

He was also Minister for Tech and the Digital Economy in 2022 at DCMS, and in 2021, chaired the Joint Committee of both Houses of Parliament on the draft Online Safety Bill. He has also previously chaired the APPGs for Media Freedom, Media Literacy, Visual Arts, and Fashion and Textiles.

Dinenage, who was Minister of State at the then Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport between February 2020  and September 2021, has yet to issue a candidate statement.

Categories: Articles, Business, People, Policy, Regulation

Tags: , ,